dod 8140

A Guide to DoD 8140 – Updated 2023

In the realm of cybersecurity, staying ahead of threats and vulnerabilities is paramount. The Department of Defense Directive 8140, or DoD 8140, emerges as a guiding force in ensuring the preparedness and proficiency of the U.S. Department of Defense’s cyberspace workforce. A successor to the earlier DoD 8570 directive, DoD 8140 encompasses a comprehensive and adaptable approach to cybersecurity workforce management.

This blog post unveils the nuances of DoD 8140, delving into its significance, certification chart, baseline certifications, and its role in nurturing a skilled and resilient cyber workforce.

About DoD 8140

The Department of Defense Directive 8140, also known as DoD 8140, represents a significant evolution in how the U.S. Department of Defense manages its cyberspace workforce. This directive, established in 2015, is designed to address the changing landscape of cybersecurity roles and responsibilities.

It replaces the earlier DoD 8570 directive and reflects a more comprehensive and adaptable approach to ensuring that the individuals within the DoD possess the necessary skills and certifications to protect critical information and digital assets.

DoD 8140 Certification Chart

At the heart of DoD 8140 is the certification chart, which outlines the required certifications for specific roles within the cyberspace workforce. This comprehensive document categorizes various positions based on their cybersecurity functions and details the certifications that align with each role.

From entry-level positions to advanced roles, the certification chart provides a clear path for professionals to identify the certifications that match their career aspirations and job responsibilities.

DoD 8140 Certification Requirements

The DoD 8140 certification requirements chart serves as a detailed roadmap for cybersecurity professionals. It specifies the certifications necessary for personnel at different levels of expertise and within various functional areas. This chart not only helps individuals understand their certification journey but also assists employers and organizations in aligning their workforce development strategies with the demands of modern cyberspace operations.

DoD 8140 Baseline Certifications

The concept of DoD 8140 baseline certifications signifies the foundational certifications required for specific job categories. These certifications are deemed essential for individuals operating in particular cyberspace roles. By defining these baseline requirements, DoD 8140 ensures that even the most fundamental skill sets align with the evolving demands of cybersecurity.

DoD 8140 vs 8570

While DoD 8570 laid the initial groundwork for cybersecurity certifications, DoD 8140 goes beyond by focusing on the broader landscape of cyberspace operations. It recognizes the interconnectedness of various roles and emphasizes adaptability in the face of evolving threats. DoD 8140 acknowledges the dynamic nature of cybersecurity, encompassing a wider range of job functions and fostering a more holistic approach to workforce management.

In essence, DoD 8140 reflects the Department of Defense’s commitment to maintaining a highly skilled and adaptable cyberspace workforce. By providing a comprehensive framework and guidelines for certifications, it ensures that the nation’s cybersecurity defenders are well-equipped to face the challenges of an ever-evolving digital landscape.

Here is our Guide to the DoD Directive 8570.


DoD 8140 embodies the U.S. Department of Defense’s commitment to maintaining a vigilant and highly skilled cyberspace workforce. By providing a robust framework for certifications and skill development, DoD 8140 ensures that professionals are equipped to counter evolving cyber threats.

As technology advances and cyber risks escalate, the directive serves as a dynamic blueprint for safeguarding critical information and digital assets. In a world where cyber attacks can disrupt nations and organizations, DoD 8140 stands as a beacon of readiness, resilience, and preparedness.

Scroll to Top